Splashback!

I seem to be spending a disproportionate amount of time thinking about the kitchen splash back.  The general plan for the kitchen is wood floors (probably blackbutt) and white cabinets with a pale coloured caesarstone bench top (perhaps greyish white).  My dilemma is whether to make a little personality statement with the splashback.

Stone is out.  I love it, but the quote was too expensive.  (About $4000!  Ooo!)

Stylish stone.  Picture from Dunlin.

Stylish stone. Picture from Dunlin.

A window would be pleasant, but there will be no view and already there is window in the adjacent scullery.  The window-stove top interface also presents a problem.

Glass is nice, I chose it for my last kitchen, but somehow my taste has moved on.

Glass.  Hmm, looks really good here.  Picture from The Design Files.

Glass. Hmm, looks really good here. Picture from The Design Files.

Exposed brick – looks gorgeous, but is surely impossible to clean and I’m not sure if we’d pull off “the look” in a brand new house.  Stainless steel – practical but not very homely.

So here we are, looking at tiles.  I’ve seen some amazing tiles recently and they are wooing me.  They would come at a price (how high I’m not yet sure), not only for the tile upgrade but also in the cost to lay a smaller tile than the standard tile provided by the builder.

My kind of blue.  Design by Jenni Leasia.

My kind of blue. Design by Jenni Leasia.

I really like this one and think it might suit my future kitchen best.  It almost looks like stone.  Picture from:

I really like this one and think it might suit my future kitchen best. It almost looks like stone. Picture from: Casa Sugar.

Glass tiles do reflect the light beautifully.  Picture from:

Shiny glass tiles make me swoon. Picture from: Molly Frey Design.

So the question I keep asking myself is:  Do I stick with a plain white tile and let some of my favourite kitchen items, resting on the bench, do the talking?

This is the Rubix display home showing the standard tiles.  Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

This is the Rubix display home showing the standard tiles. Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

Or do I go out on a limb and choose some beautiful tiles that make a statement?

Utterly beautiful tiles.  Unsuited to my kitchen, but shown here just for pleasure!  Picture from Pinterest.

Utterly beautiful tiles. Unsuited to my kitchen, but shown here just for pleasure! Picture from Pinterest.

15 thoughts on “Splashback!

  1. Go for it Jo. Get something with a bit of excitement so you look at it and go wow!
    Are there any other options, like wallpaper behind glass? I don’t really know but just a thought (I’ve been watching the Block too much).

  2. Choosing a splashback was a really big dilemma for us. I was going to go with caesarstone to match the benches. Tiles were another idea but my husband wasn’t keen. We have ended up going with glass

  3. May says:

    I’d say go with what you “REALLY, REALLY” want. Families spend a lot of time in the kitchen, so have something you all will like. We have tiles, but our stovetop also has a glass/stainless lift up lid which helps a lot, cos the glass lid picks up the splashes and the tiles/grout remain as clean as ever. Lid folds down when not in use.

  4. Go for something you love eg those beautiful shiny glass tiles. Economise elsewhere. Back in 1974…yes the year you were born…lime green laminex was the way-out/die-for look. The builder talked me into something far more conservative….mustard colored cack…I still haven’t forgiven him. AND…in order to move on…. look at the consequences…I had to buy a different house….pressed tin that time….House NO 4 and I have shiny glass bright blue tiles with a strip of sparkly mosaic through them….I’ll never need to move again because I love my tiles.

  5. I’m with Joan, especially when it is your money, not mine!! We currently have white laminex cupboards, an un-stylish black laminex benchtop (we didn’t want to overcapitalise as we knew we would upgrade as part of the extension ~5years later) and a splashback of plain small square white tiles. After having lived with the plain white tiles against the white cupboards, I am most certainly going for more fancy tiles with the kitchen revamp. I think it will give the kitchen greater sophistication. As we only have approximately 2 square meters of splashback, the difference between a $40per square meter tile and $120per square meter tile is peanuts (relatively speaking).

    • Mmm. I haven’t actually priced anything I love yet. Can’t see much online and have’t been near a tile shop. Will have to do some more research. I also need to consider extra price to lay different tiles, that will no doubt be smaller than the standard ones. Anyone with prices of lovely tiles, please share.

  6. Bruna says:

    Agree with all! Make a statement and get some pleasure from an otherwise nondescript part of the kitchen. I had no involvement in this decision and ended up with what looks like the left over bathroom tiles (that’s why your uncle didn’t stay in residential architecture!!). My friend’s next door have a random pattern of different colored tiles they look great.

  7. Lovely pictures! We went for a glass splashback which was fab and colourful. They can be such statement pieces! Nice post and good inspirations here 🙂

  8. Kate says:

    Casa sugar – almost stone tiles get my vote. Or recycled brick behind clear glass. Not that would be stunning! xxx

Leave a Reply

