House By The Water goes facebooky

Sometimes I have house thoughts that are not quite big enough for a blog post, but still demand some attention.  Like this week, I began seeking timber floor quotes, which tipped off a whole new round of questions – “plank on ply” versus “direct stick”, matte, satin or gloss sheen, etc.?  As you may have already gathered, I’m a little bit geographically challenged with this house build.  We are building in Western Australia but right now I’m 5 hours by plane away and it’s only going to get worse.  So I can’t just pop into a few showrooms for a little browse and chat with sales staff.

This blog and its readers have been helping me blunder my way through so far and it’s all been such a lovely relationship that House By The Water now has a little offspring.  For all those not-yet-blog-thoughts, please visit my new facebook page. You can click on the facebook link in the right column of the blog home page or click here.

Owner of this beautiful house, if you could just pop by my new facebook page and tell me if you blackbutt floors have matte, shiny or gloss sheen, that would be great.  (Photo from:  homedsgn.com.)

Owner of this beautiful house, if you could just pop by my new facebook page and tell me if your blackbutt floors have matte, shiny or gloss sheen, that would be great. (Photo from: homedsgn.com.)

2 thoughts on “House By The Water goes facebooky

  1. Africadayz says:

    Hi Johanne. Firstly, thank you for looking at my little blog; it has led me to yours and I have found reading all your posts fascinating. When I saw your name I thought you must be South African. Is it possible that you’re an ex-South African now living in Australia? You’re building for a growing family and my husband and I are building as down-sizing “empty-nesters”, a phrase I don’t like but which seems to crop up everywhere these days. Good luck with your building. I’ll be following your progress with great interest.

    • Thank you Africadayz. Although there are lots of South Africans living in Western Australia, I’m not one of them. I think the spelling of my surname differs slightly to the South African name. I hope to visit your beautiful country one day. There is lots of house building inspiration to be found in South Africa. I’ve often drooled over pictures of Cape Town coastal homes that are perfectly stunning. Happy building!

Leave a Reply

