The splash back is back.

You all know that I’ve been suffering indecision about the splash back for some time.  But it turns out that you are all secretly obsessing over splash backs too.  (I’ve got stats!)  The problem is that the more I think about it, the more options I find and the more confused I become.  So I thought we’d take a vote!  Now, I know you are all sensible people and want to know about the rest of the kitchen before you comment on the splash back, so here’s a rough idea.  Blackbutt floor boards, white cabinets, light grey bench, stainless steel ovens in view.  Sort of like this but with the possibility of some extra colour on the wall oven stack (maybe grey, maybe black?):

Kitchen colours.  Plan A.

Kitchen colours. Plan A.

I’m going to call the overall style of the house “modern Australian with some earthiness”!

Here is the ever-growing list of beautiful options.  Don’t get too excited – you can only pick one.

1.  A glossy glass tile, maybe in a very light grey:

A pretty glass tile, looking more blue than grey here.

A pretty glass tile, looking more blue than grey here.  By Molly Frey Design.

It need not be a subway tile, but the colour and shine are gorgeous.

Maybe not subway tile shape, but the colour and shine are gorgeous.  From Jenna Sue Design.

2.  A stone-look tile such as these:

I can hear the builder/tilers groaning already.

I can hear the builder/tilers groaning already.  From Myaree Ceramics.

Photo from:

Available from Tiles Expo.

Here's how that might look in the kitchen.   Picture from:

Here’s how that might look in the kitchen. Picture from: Casa Sugar, design by Amber Interiors.

3.  A decorative tile:

Hand painted tiles.  Could be tricky to source in Australia.

I adore the muted colours of these hand painted terra cotta tiles.  Photo from KB Resource.

Decorative tile.

Decorative tile.  (Picture source: unknown.)

As assortment of tiles from Jantana Interiors.

As assortment of tiles from Jantana Interiors.  Photo from The Design Files.

Laurence Pidgeon tile.

The detail is gorgeous, but may be too delicate for the kitchen? Picture source: Laurence Pidgeon.

4.  A plain coloured tile that still packs a punch:

Here it's greenish grey, but the key is the texture of the tile and the variation in colour.

Here it’s greenish grey, but the key is the texture of the tile and the variation in colour.  Photo from Dwell.

Black must be in.  Looks glam with grey and silver.

Black must be in. Looks glam with grey and silver.  Picture source: Dwell.

Small black (or grey or blue) tile.

Small black (or grey or blue) tile.  Picture from The Design Chaser.

Just right for the indecisive, like me!  By Laurence Pidgeon.

Just right for the indecisive, like me! By Laurence Pidgeon.

5.  Exposed brick (or the next best thing):

Exposed brick....  Oh, OK, it's not real.  It's wallpaper, therefore it probably needs glass over the top to be suitable as a splash back.  Did I fool you?

Exposed brick…. Oh, OK, it’s not real. It’s wallpaper, therefore it probably needs glass over the top to be suitable as a splash back. Did I fool you?  Photo via Houzz.

6.  None of the above.  How about something a bit different?

Hmm, choosing the right picture could take me a year.

Hmm, choosing the right picture could take me a year.  Picture source:  Urzadzamy PL.

Black board splash back or something else?

Black board splash back.  From The Design Chaser.

How very "Mandurah"!  No dolphins or crabs allowed in my house.

How very “Mandurah”!  But, no dolphins or crabs are allowed in my house.  By New Ravenna.

So go on, pick your favourite.  

And add a comment if you feel compelled.  Thank you.

P.S.  If that is not enough splash backs for you, check out my splash back file in Pinterest.

23 thoughts on “The splash back is back.

  1. joan55555 says:

    Well I’m your mother and I can vote as often as I like. No2 BUT NO Hexagons please. No 1 But no greenish grey thank you.No 3 decorative hand painted in blue tones. Hope that helps!!! Mumxxx

      • joan55555 says:

        Ooh they are lovely. I’m getting where you are heading now. Order a box and ship them back here. If nothing else they could well become a special little feature or insert amongst something more simple/earthy…..a line against the work bench before something complimentary above.

  2. joan55555 says:

    There is something wrong in the state of WA. My vote (for No 2) has not registered. I demand a recount. Maybe something to do with my multiple votes!!

  3. Africadayz says:

    My favourite is number 4, followed closely by the picture from ‘Casa Sugar’. Not keen on heavily patterned, ‘busy’ tiles in the kitchen as I suspect you’d tire of them after a while. Once again, and I know this might sound boring, but I’m all for neutral backgrounds enhanced by splashes of moveable and changeable colour in accessories. Although, having said that, a few of those beautiful handpainted tiles in one small area might look beautiful.
    Love the ‘Modern Australian with a touch of Earthiness’ description.

  4. There are so many gorgeous tiles you can pick from, when I visited the tile shops I was drawn to the glass tiles because they were so shiny and pretty. In the end I went with a full glass splashback as it was cheaper and quicker to install than tiles would have been and easier to clean as no grout to clean grease and grime out of. Cant wait to see what you pick 🙂

  5. How fun! I love all your options, so whichever you choose you won’t go wrong… I noticed your house is taking on a neutral, modern theme with lots of white and gray that is warmed up with wood flooring and accents — great look! While I love glass tile, my personal opinion is that it’s one of those trends may be outdated in 10-15 years.. However, stone/ceramic/porcelain, such as options 2 and 4, look great in any style home in any decade!

  6. Bruna says:

    I love 3 and 2- hand painted terra cotta and stone look. Why have economical sensible when you can have more exclusive /individual?? Also living in North Fitzroy surrounded by cafes , quite liked the novel blackboard -you could write up the days menu to tantalize the family’s tastebuds!

  7. Not sure whether they’d be great for a splashback but we are opting for white hexagonal tiles (no2) on the bathroom floor with warm grey grout. Wall tiles will probably end up being bumpy vintage metro style – saying that I am a sucker for a hint of marble! Looks like you have great taste!

  8. Hexagons – too hard to clean. Concerned the subway tile which is right on trend now will date. I love the decorative tiles…3 a, b and d…they are stunning. xxx

  9. I picked the stone look, but also love the glass tile in grey though I prefer the beveled style like the first pic. There are so many options. I found tiles the hardest of all- matching the style/colour to everything else. Good luck!

  10. Hi there,
    Love the blog
    Im currently designing my hosue and wondering if your second last pic on the bottom (chalkboard splashback) has got laminate drawers or if its real timber …thanks
    Jess

Leave a Reply

