Kitchen Colours

While my thoughts are still firmly planted in the kitchen, it is time to take the plunge and decide on some kitchen colours.  I’ve been doing some heavy Pinterest trawling lately and I’ve saved a lot of pictures, but surprisingly, selecting my Top 5 pictures for kitchen inspiration was easy.  The Nice Wolf kiboshed one of them, so we are down to four:

My absolute favourite, though probably not quite in the style of "Modern Australian with some earthiness."  Silver, white and wood, with the tiniest bit of black.

My absolute favourite, though probably not quite in the style of “Modern Australian with some earthiness.” Silver, white and wood, with the tiniest bit of black.  By Sophie Burke Design.

A daring addition of black on the wall oven stack.  I wonder if I could pull it off.

A daring addition of black on the wall oven stack. I wonder if I could pull it off.  Picture from Fancy! Design Blog.

This looks like the kitchen of a cook.  Homely.

This looks like the kitchen of a cook. Homely.  Picture from Home Adore.

Silvery grey, white and wood again.

Ignore the style,  I love the colours.  Designed by ML Interiors.

So it’s blatantly clear the colours scheme I like.  White and grey, with wood and stainless steel.  A touch of black and a splash of live greenery.  Should be easy, right?

Here is the display home kitchen looking a little too, well, display-homey for me:

The "Rubix" kitchen, as seen in the display home.  Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

The “Rubix” kitchen, as seen in the display home. Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

We added a freestanding 900mm oven instead of one of the wall ovens and modified the kitchen island design so now our kitchen layout is like this:

Our kitchen layout.

Our kitchen layout, the scullery to the left keeps the fridge and microwave out of sight.

Playing on my laptop for a few hours, I came up with this:

Almost looks like a kitchen....

Almost looks like a kitchen….  It needs a splash of colour, my favourite blue salad bowl or some olive leaves in a vase.

This kitchen plan is based on:

  • NSW blackbutt timber floors
  • Calacatta Classic Caesarstone bench tops (I may have to reselect later due to $$)
  • Polar White Laminex cabinets
  • Grey glass tiles
  • Walnut tractor stools.

As usual there are a few dilemmas you could help me with:

1.  The wall oven stack.  The original stack design incorporates a border (see display kitchen photo), so there is an opportunity to make it two-toned.  I don’t think a wood-look border would work since it sits on a timber floor and matching the two could get ugly.  I tried a grey border, but again matching a grey laminate with 2 other greys (splashback tiles and bench top) didn’t look right.  Should I try a brushed silver look?  Husband has said “no” to black.  Maybe I should ditch the two-tones and keep the whole stack white.  Help!

A grey border on the oven stack could look like this.  Picture from Minimalisms.

A grey border on the oven stack could look like this. Picture from Designed for life.

2.  After my previous post, I narrowed down my splash back options to stone-look tiles or a decorative tile.  However, when I put the stone-look tiles on the mood board they seemed to clash with my favourite Caesarstone benchtop colour and the decorative tile that I fell in love with was too dark.  While I am drawn to glass tiles I was worried that they would not suit the style of the rest of the house, but I am surprised that they looked the best on my mood board.  And so the indecision goes on…  probably only to be resolved when I can get my hands on all the samples.

3.  To pendant, or not to pendant.  I like the touch of black from the pendants.  I think it balances the black of the wall oven.  The Nice Wolf is not keen.  I tried some other options,  glass, shiny nickel, dark grey and vintage silver but they may as well not have been there at all.  Aside from the colour issue, there is the question of height.  There is a bulkhead in our kitchen at 28 courses.  This means that the kitchen ceiling height is relatively low, at about 2.41 metres.  (The kitchen shares open space with the dining room, 31 courses, and the living room, 63 courses.)  Should I ditch the pendants, stick with downlights for the kitchen and add a little bit of black elsewhere, such as dining room pendant?

6 thoughts on “Kitchen Colours

  1. Great choice – I don’t think you can go wrong with a touch of stainless steel/silver. And yes yes yes to pendant – will allow you intimacy over dinner (with all the other lights off). Good work doing the drawings.

  2. E and M says:

    Pendants on the bench are a must for us. Mood lighting and a touch of uniqueness. Lovely colours to choose from. I really enjoyed this post. A rich list of examples. I can see where you are heading!

  3. Keep it simple and let some lovely lights do the talking, either just over the dining table or if they fit over the bench. . My choice would be light grey or white around the stove (especially if you have some glass tiles for the splash back) then have fun with your favourite decorating pieces, bowl /pot or whatever. I would skip the timber there. So many magnificent light features available. Not sure how much room to hang them above bench but there will be something stunning out there. The right pendants would be lovely but I also love the clean clear lines of the Rubix. Just measured our dining area: 2.45m floor to ceiling and that leaves about
    0. 55m to hang something over the table without head collisions.

  4. Hi Jo. It’s so good to read all this as I am facing very similar decisions right now. Our extension includes only a partial kitchen renovation. We have white laminex cupboards and Formica ink (very dark blue) on the oven/microwave stack (kitchen 9 years old). While I might not choose the ink again, I really love having a darker colour contrast and the practicalities of it in the grubby areas. I think it’s such a good idea that we are getting the white uprights on either side of the dishwasher replaced to ink laminate so that the coffee slops won’t look as bad as they do on the white. At one point (before number crunching) I considered changing the ink to a mid grey or the metal look-alike laminates but budget constraints stopped any further research. My view for your kitchen is to try and work a grey in with the wall oven stack but I can understand the difficulties with ‘matching’ it with the splashback and bench greys.

    We have standard ceiling height but I could not resist the chance to get some pendants over the kitchen bench/breakfast bar where tall people will not be impeded. We have purchased 3 white Areos (tear drop shape with brushed metal rim). We are able to adjust the cord on them to alter the height. I chose white over stainless steel only because I noticed the brushed metal ones in the shop showed the dust…and I’m not a duster. I don’t think they’ll get lost with the white of the cabinetry as most of the background will be painted plaster. I’m barracking for a pendant in your kitchen!

    • Thanks Vic. I checked out “Formica Ink” and it’s my kind of blue. I couldn’t find your pendants but I found some very glamorous “Aeros” pendants instead. I’m really looking forward to some pics of your renos. Maybe you could do a “guest post” with before and after photos? Please….?

Leave a Reply

