Laundry Colours

This laundry is beautiful.  Photo from Elle Decor.

This laundry is truly beautiful.  Photo from Elle Decor.

Finding some inspiration for the laundry was a challenge.  There are very few beautiful laundries out there.  Perhaps beauty is not necessary.  Light and functional is what I’m aiming for.

Our laundry is accessed via the scullery and will be the main thoroughfare from the kitchen to the rubbish bins.  I will not iron in there, so the laundry will simply be for washing.  Its notable feature will be a laundry chute.  Hardly exciting.  (Writing this makes me realise that I may have got a little carried away in my previous post about fancy tiles.)

Without further ado, here are my Top 5 Laundries for Inspiration:

My favourite.  Source

My favourite. Quite bold, but kept pretty by the pendant lights and cane accessories. Original source unknown, via Pinterest.

Accessories can make all the difference.  Original source not found, via Pinterest.

Accessories can make all the difference. Original source not found, via Pinterest.

Source:

Source: Dust Jacket.

My old favourite, grey and white, again.

My old favourite colour combo, grey and white, warmed up simply with baskets.  From Australian House and Garden.

A gorgeous, gentle colour combination.  Source:

A gorgeous, gentle colour combination. Source: Behance.

And, oh dear, here is the display home laundry:

You need some vision for this one.

You need some vision for this one.

We have deleted some of the cabinetry to fit in our chest freezer.  The grand plan is to add overhead cabinets ourselves to increase storage space and to integrate the laundry chute.

Here’s my conservative “mood board”

What do you think?  The grey bench has looks a little darker in the picture than my little sample.  It has a bit of sparkle to it, to give it a slight stone effect and reflect the light.

What do you think? The grey bench looks slightly darker in the picture than my little sample. It has a bit of sparkle to it, to give it a slight stone effect and reflect the light.

No fancy tiles at this stage, and I’ve restrained myself from the temptation of pendant lights too.  There are better places to make a statement than the laundry and I should save my money for those places.  (You may need to remind me of my wisdom later.)  Despite loving a touch of wood, I’m nervous about using wood-look laminate, so I’ve intentionally left it out of the plan.  Our wooden floors in the scullery won’t be far away and I can always add some real wooden shelving or accessories later if it needs it.

  • Floor Tiles – Sonara grey porcelain (European Ceramics, $66 /sqm) or similar.
  • Cabinets – Polar White Laminex.
  • Wall tiles – White, standard issue.
  • Benchtop – Terresphere Spark Laminex
  • Paint – Solver Feather Dawn.

Has anyone used any of these products before and would not mind sharing a photo with me?

All comments welcome!

7 thoughts on “Laundry Colours

  1. The floor tiles were magnificent. I vote with going with the real thing as opposed to stenciled concrete.
    The laundry’s are lovely. You have a distinct taste that will make for a beautiful house. The touches of wood look great, almost a touch of country with the modern look. Good luck xx

    • Thanks XV. Don’t worry, I won’t be stencilling. My artistic skills extend to clumsy children’s cake decorations and no further. I like your description – it is a bit “country” and modern at the same time.

  2. Add the shelf/shelves from picture 3 to your standard laundry, nice soft colored bench surface, a couple of white enamel useful accessories, a wooden stool and dare I say it…the cat’s bowl and it will be an attractive utility area.

  3. E and M says:

    They are lovely laundries. Unfortunately our budget didn’t stretch to a ‘dream’ laundry. We will be adding some benches and cupboards post handover. We felt this utility room was not a priority area for the time being. Although we did go with a fully glazed door to bring in heaps of light and warmth from the outside world.

  4. Bruna says:

    Dear Jo,
    Advice from an aunty who does the MINIMUM of housework..in no circumstances aim to make your laundry an attractive and inviting place..it must be somewhere you dive in and out of quickly and only when absolutely necessary to ensure your children and husband are not a health hazard at school and work!

Leave a Reply

