Ensuite colour plan

By now, you know the drill.

  • Step 1.  Select my top 5 photo inspirations.
  • Step 2.  Find the common features between them.
  • Step 3.  Review the layout of our “Rubix” plan.
  • Step 4.  Create my own mood board using products included by my builder.

It seems to be working so far.

Introducing my Top 5 ensuite bathrooms:

Light and natural.  Source:

Light and natural.  Source: Bo Bedre.

Grey and white, with wooden accessories to warm it up a little.

Grey and white, with wooden accessories to warm it up a little.  The “texture” (is that the right word?) of the tiles makes this room interesting.  Source:  Elle Decor.

Grey and white.  Simple.  Source:

Grey and white. Simple and calm.  Source:  Home Beautiful.

A few luxurious touches, not to mention marble walls, create a glamourous bathroom.  Source:

A few luxurious accessories and amazing tiles create a glamourous bathroom. Source: Toronto Interior Design Group.

Black?  Hmm.... Maybe some silver metal where the black is.  Source:

Black?  Hmm…. It’s a bit formal for the ensuite.  That’s a lovely grey bench top though and I’m always a sucker for lavender.  Source:  79 Ideas.

So grey, white and wood it is again.  (I hope you are not boring of it.)  Fancied up with some battered silver or glass.

Here is what we are working with, plenty of windows and space:

Excuse the open cupboards, but this is the photo that shows the layout  best.  Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

Excuse the open cupboards, but this photo shows the layout best. Photo from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

I didn’t like the vanity style much, so I had it switched for this one:

This rather lovely bathroom is from the Azumi, by Webb and Brown-Neaves.  Our vanity will be this style.

This rather lovely bathroom is from the Azumi, by Webb and Brown-Neaves.

So now we are having tiles all the way up to the ceiling behind the vanity and mirror, and we also extended tiles to the ceiling in the shower.  Inadvertently, in selecting the different vanity design, I think I have also selected the wood veneer laminate.  That may present a problem for my colour selections.

What do you think?

It took a lot of restraint to leave out a sparkly chandelier

Hang on a sec!  The WordPress grey picture border looks better than the paint colour I selected, shown here on the left edge.

Based on:

  • Floor – Travertine white honed tile, extending up the wall behind vanity (National Tiles) or similar.
  • Vanity unit – Laminex Blackbutt Wave timber veneer.
  • Bench tops – “Pure White” Caesarstone.
  • Wall paint – Solver Feather Dawn
  • White plantation shutters.
  • Frameless mirror.

With great self-restraint, I have not included a glass chandelier!  It was tempting, but as I spend only 5 minutes per day in the bathroom, not warranted.  Before I realised my addenda specifies Blackbutt Wave Laminex for the vanity drawers and shelf, I put a white vanity with lightly grey Caesarstone bench top on the mood board.  I’m a bit nervous about a pure white bench top, but I tried various other whites, and also clamshell grey, but none of those seemed to work.

Of all my mood boards so far, this is the one I’m least confident about.  Do you think the wood veneer laminex can work in this case?  (It looks great in real life at the Azumi.) Or should I investigate the possibility of changing it out?

2 thoughts on “Ensuite colour plan

Leave a Reply

