The Scullery

Our kitchen is going to be fairly spick and span.  In theory.  But I love to bake, and the Nice Wolf doesn’t mind getting in touch with his inner Frenchman either.  So I want a space where we can let it all hang out, have everything at our fingertips and make a lovely, floury mess.  Introducing the scullery!  Otherwise known as a butlers pantry, the scullery sits behind the kitchen.  It will be also be the place to hide the dirty pots, out of view from the main living area.

My scullery inspiration:

Beth-Kirby-Local-Milk-kitchen-by-Jersey-Ice-Cream-Co-Remodelista-10

Essential floating shelves.  Source: Remodelista.

Farmhouse kitchen

Source: Vintage house.

Kitchen shelving

Simple and useful. Our subway tiles will be light grey. Source: Our House.

I know, all a bit samey, just different degrees of rusticness.  (I hope you enjoyed those two new words.)  At least I know what I like.  Some floating wooden shelves and a couple of potted herbs is all I need to get started.   I already have the vintage scales, wooden chopping boards and Kitchen Aid mixer.

Here’s the basic layout of our scullery as shown in the display home:

Photos from Webb and Brown-Neaves.

That’s more than 3 metres of extra cake-baking heaven!  We will install our own open shelves for easy access to baking staples and some hooks and racks for our favourite tools.  My Kitchen Aid mixer will have pride of place, but…..da, da, da, daah (insert “wrong answer” sound effect) – it’s red!  For many years my favourite colour was red.  I have lots of lovely Le Creuset pots and pans in red and a matching mixer.  Now my favourite colour is not red!  I am considering painting my mixer a neutral colour, but Aunty Kate strongly advises me against it.

My scullery:Scullery mood board

Featuring:

  • Floor:  NSW Blackbutt timber.
  • Splash back tile:  Vogue grigio gloss, subway tile size with white grout.
  • Caesarstone bench top: Alpine Mist.
  • Cabinets:  Classic white sheen (polytec)
  • Antique kitchen scales.
  • Well glass pendant light from Dunlin.

To finish my post, for Deb at “Deb’s Dream Home“, I’ve been trying to imagine the first thing that I’ll make in my brand new scullery.  My first thought is macarons – but in reality, when we first move in, life is going to be chaotic and macarons are not going to be a priority, so I’m going with home-made pizza or pasta!

Do you have a scullery?

What’s the first thing you cooked in your new kitchen?

And, should I paint my Kitchen Aid mixer another colour?

 

17 thoughts on “The Scullery

  1. I love the look of open shelving, but my question is – how often do the open shelves need everything removed to give them a good wiping? I clean my “inner” cabinets like every few months, but I’d think open shelving would need to be cleaned on your regular dusting schedule.

    • Ah, Jennifer, you assume that I have a dusting schedule!
      (But I take your point. I hope to use everything so often that dust never has a chance to settle??)

      • Yeah, I guess I did assume that 😉 I dust every week before I vacuum. HOWEVER – I do plan on hiring someone to clean for me after we move in… we are tripling our footprint and I know it will not be an easy task. With every decision I’ve made I’ve had “cleaning” in mind – windows were one of them, but I decided I wanted LIGHT!

      • booksinthebush says:

        Ah Johanne, in a perfect world there would be no dust! Jennifer, you’re the first person I’ve heard of who cleans inside their cabinets that often!

  2. Africadayz says:

    This is really interesting. What you seem to be describing is a sort of ‘secret kitchen’ where the messy stuff happens out of sight? A scullery here is an area dedicated to sinks, dishwashers and washing up utensils. It’s not an area where any food preparation takes place. Love your inspiration pictures. Not sure about painting the mixer… Tend to agree with Auntie Katy on that one!

    • A scullery really is a decadent luxury and is only starting to become more common in Australia since more people are preferring open-plan living spaces. I’ve never had one before. Many people would only wash in a scullery, but since ours will have a nice large window and I will have everything at hand, it will be a pleasant place to be.

    • booksinthebush says:

      I definitely wouldn’t paint the mixer. They’re done with such a high quality enamel finish that paint wouldn’t stick well enough to look good for long. Better to have the mixer in a cabinet (with an air-lift arm to raise it to work-bench height!). I still love red, but haven’t included it in my kitchen colour scheme either.

  3. trixee says:

    I have a red kitchen aid too! But I’m definitely not painting it. I love the idea of floating timber shelving, very practical and would be a great diy project too. Let’s see, what would I bake first? Mr T keeps hassling me to make macarons too, but I’m more likely to bake a cake or muffins I think. The oven will be completely new so I feel like I need to test it out on something safe first.

  4. Love it Johanne! The colour scheme and the materials – perfect – and I love that it will have a nice window. We are thinking of turning our 1970s bar into a small scullery of sorts for our little kitchen.

  5. I’d love a scullery. I tried desperately hard to squeeze one in, but just wouldn’t fit. I’m a really messy cook. Good flooring choice – the floor in our living areas and passageways is the NSW Blackbutt timber. I don’t think a red mixer would be out of place in that colour scheme at all. I have tried to make macarons so any times … they are my conspiracy recipe, no matter how many times I try, they just fail 😦 Probably a good thing though, otherwise I’d be ten times the size.

  6. booksinthebush says:

    What will I make first in my kitchen? I don’t know yet, as I won’t move in until the middle of December, but I am looking forward to a proper pot of tea instead of a “bag-in-a-mug-on-a-building-site” cuppa!

  7. booksinthebush says:

    I love the floating shelves, and might include one or two in my kitchen too. Not 100% sure yet though. We wanted to have coloured subway tiles similar to your grey ones, but couldn’t find exactly the right shade for our cabinets and benches. Oh well, our large milky off-white tiles with Murano glass border looks pretty darn good anyway.

  8. Love love love the photos. All of them. The mixer? Leave it red. A pop of colour is fun. And if it’s in the scullery no problem. Out of sight. :). Or gift it to a mixerless (my new word) soul and buy a new one. (Says the girl who is re using all her furniture. 😉). Ha!!

    I am going with open shelves too. I love them.

    It is going to look lovely.

Leave a Reply

