Paint, pendants and panoramas.

The Nice Wolf arrived back from his visit to Australia with everything he needed to stay in the good books for quite some time.

  • Australian home magazines.
  • Earl grey tea.
  • Tim tams.
  • A light weight measuring tape, more suited to handbags than my current heavy tape.
  • Loads of photos of the house.

But best of all, he brought small panels of sample Solver Paints from my short list.  I’ve spent hours gazing at these boards.  On the weekend they were perched on a bench in direct view from my bed, then I moved them to the living area to watch them throughout the days as the light changed. Any normal person would stop there.

Not I. 

Feather Dawn, the first to be eliminated from my shortlist.  Too white.

Feather Dawn, the first to be eliminated from my shortlist. Too white.

Kitty Grey is very pretty and looks the best with our Alpine Mist Caesarstone.

Kitty Grey is very pretty and looks the best with our Alpine Mist Caesarstone.

Kitty Grey and Crystal Ball undergoing a warm light, bedroom mood test.  You can see that Kitty Grey could be "greige" (grey/brown) at times.

Kitty Grey and Crystal Ball undergoing a warm light, bedroom mood test. You can see that Kitty Grey could be “greige” (grey/brown) at times.

Crystal Ball (I think!) flanked by purples and blues.  My biggest fear with using a "cool grey" paint, is it looking like lavender.  All clear here.

Crystal Ball (I think!) flanked by purples and blues. My biggest fear with using a “cool grey” paint, is it looking like lavender. All clear here.  Soft Apparition was next to be removed from my shortlist due to hints of purple in some lights.

Full sun test.  Top left: Crystal Ball, Top right: Soft Apparition,  Bottom left: Southward, Bottom right:  Kitty Grey

Full sun test. Top left: Crystal Ball, Top right: Soft Apparition,
Bottom left: Southward, Bottom right: Kitty Grey.

Final 3,  L to R:  Southward, Kitty Grey, Crystal Ball.  With some colours and textures that you are likely to find in our main living area.  The colour on my screen is fairly true to reality.  Which do you prefer?

Final 3: (L to R) Southward, Kitty Grey, Crystal Ball. With some colours and textures that you are likely to find in our main living area. (NB: Timber shown is not blackbutt such as we’ll have at House By The Water )

The colours on my screen are fairly true to reality. Which do you prefer?  Southwards is quite dull at night, so I’ve narrowed it down to two.  Kitty Grey and Crystal Ball.

And just in case you were thinking of giving me an “A minus” for my home creating obsessiveness, here’s a current view of my rental kitchen.

Dunlin pendants (almost) - 45 cm diameter on left, 36 cm on right.

Dunlin Titan pendants (almost) – 45 cm diameter on left, 36 cm on right.

At $600 a pop for my proposed kitchen bench pendant lights, I wondered if I could get away with a slightly smaller pendant.  The answer is no.  Now, I just have to be certain that I’ve picked the right style.  It would be much simpler to install these lights when everything else is in, taking a couple home from a local shop to test, returning them if necessary before installing.  Online ordering and building by a “package system” don’t favour this.

My husband took a lot of photos on site recently.  I’m going to be restrained and limit my “show and tell” to just 2 panoramas.  One photo to show off the view, the other to give you a sense of our main living area, with the L shaped dining, kitchen and lounge area.  Click on the images to be taken to the interactive 360 degree panoramas.

Canal side at House By The Water.  Click on image for 360 degree tour.

Canal side at House By The Water. Click on image for 360 degree tour.

Standing in the kitchen looking towards the main living area.  Click on picture for 360 degree tour.  You'll see the dining room to your left and the scullery to the far right.   The door opening seen here is for the "cellar".

Standing in the kitchen looking towards the main living area. Click on the picture for 360 degree tour. You’ll see the dining room to your left and the scullery to the far right. The door opening seen here is for the “cellar”.

Home Trends Survey Results

Last week I surveyed readers about Home Trends in 2015.  As I suspected, you are a reasonably well-balanced bunch who only let the overwhelming barrage of home deco media and retail get the better of you occasionally.  Thanks to 40 readers for participating in the fun, mostly from Australia, but also 9 readers from elsewhere in the world.

What was our biggest temptation?  Copper!  Almost half of you can’t get enough copper, and the other half like it at least for the kitchen pots.  Let’s hope this is one trend that’s here to stay.

What were we most adverse to?  Human skull decor, closely followed by pineapples.

Of course there were a few rebels among you.  Thank goodness for that.  Life would be dull if we were all the same.  I’ll let you know when I sign up for a Shibori course, maybe you’d like to join me.

23 thoughts on “Paint, pendants and panoramas.

  1. trixee says:

    The panoramas are clever, what a view! I’m somewhat jealous of your scullery and cellar. Good to see they’ve done the electrical rough-in too!

    For the paint colours, Crystal Ball seems to be catching my eye, but this is with the bias of my screen calibration. On my screen, Kitty Grey appears a little on the yellow side, while Southward appears to be the closest match to the Verona Mist. Crystal Ball has a brightness that I like.

    The survey was very fun, thanks for sharing the results. Why we hate pineapples as much as skulls, I’m not sure.

    • Crystal Ball is a really nice colour and the brightness that you speak of makes it a better choice than Southward for me, but I think it does clash a bit with our Caesarstone. Occasionally it gives me a glimpse of lavender. I have seen a little yellow in K.G. but over the week of observations, it’s been much more reliable than Crystal Ball. Which paint brand are you selecting from Trixee?

      • trixee says:

        I have no idea! Painting (of walls) isn’t included in our contract, so theoretically I could get any brand I want. I’m currently considering dulux, solver, and Haymes, but haven’t really investigated thoroughly. I think it’s something I can put off until later. But I think I’ll be looking at similar colours to you. I’ll need something light to counteract the dark floors and cabinetry, so whites or pale greys.

  2. Nitu says:

    Love your selections Johanne. Silent follower of your blog and you have a really nice taste. I like kitty grey..its quite in sync with the benchtop.

    Alpine mist was my first choice since we couldn’t go with nuvo but ended up blowing our budget so much that I went with organic white to retain a bit of grey in the benchtop.

    • Thanks for the compliments Nitu and for ending your silence! Organic White is a good choice from the standard Caesarstone options. I don’t think you can go wrong with it. Alpine Mist was definitely a splurge for me.

    • Anne-Marie, I’ve been using your monkey fist knots a lot to represent the colours and textures that I want for HBTW, and that little Indian cup is just beautiful.

  3. We have just finished painting the upper level of our house in “slightly”. We went for this colour as we wanted something quite light grey/ white. Whilst I was worried it would throw green (and it does at times) other times it throws lavender, so who knows!!

    We wanted a darker grey for the main bedroom, and tried a few which looked wrong on the walls (too dark). We ended up using the kitty grey that was leftover from the exterior and it is a winner (I think…) Amazing how different it looks outside compared to inside.

    Your house looks like it is progressing very well!!

    • I couldn’t find “slightly” – is it Solver? Good idea to use the leftover paint from the Exterior. I can’t see any reason why not. It’s incredible how our perception of the colours change in different circumstances – even from one moment to the next as I walk around the room. Drives me nuts!

      • Haha, yes I was going nuts with purple one minute, green the next. Starting to think I’m seeing things, must be all the paint fumes 🙂

        Slightly is a solver colour. It’s not on the internet (that I found anyway) but the paint shops all know it. It was recommended to us originally.

  4. I like your obsessiveness Johanne. Two big thumbs up! It’s the way to go. Not long ago I painted a few samples of different soft cool greys on our bathroom wall; decided on the winner after looking at it in different lights, then after I had painted the whole bathroom realised that it looked like lavender – my biggest fear too. I tried to learn to love it; but never did, finally painted over it with hatred in my heart! And if you are doing a house as big as yours… you want to be sure you’re getting it right! I like the idea of displaying the paints with your personal items. Can’t wait to see your paints go up on those walls.

    • Trust you to appreciate my obsession, Maya. At least we can see the humour in it. Maybe the bathroom you refer to is the one with Alpine Mist?? Alpine Mist Caesarstone really seems to clash with my cool grey paint samples. All roads are currently leading to Kitty Grey!

  5. That’s great that you got all those Aussie goodies.. including the swatches!! Nice vignettes too. 🙂 Count me in as another vote for a warmer grey over a cooler grey – it won’t turn blue in cool, indirect light.

  6. I’m not great with colours. Is there a colour equivalent of being tone deaf? If so that’s me!
    However I love the name ‘Kitty Grey’, it conjures up feelings of softness and warmth 🙂
    Did you enjoy the Aussie home magazines? I looked at one after your last posting on trends and laughed as I ticked just about each one off as I looked through the magazine.
    I have just arrived back in the UK with a suitcase filled with TimTams and Caramello Koalas and the odd Chiquito or two. I also have a special edition bar of Vegemite flavoured Cadbury’s chocolate for my unsuspecting sister.

    • Ha, ha Lunar! Yes, I too have carried Caramello Koalas across the globe! The magazines are good, but not the ones I would have chosen! I must be more specific next time. As for your poor sister, I like vegemite as much as the next Australian, but I think Cadbury are wasting chocolate with that idea. I hope the Koalas will make up for it. Have a nice time!

  7. Your attention to detail is amazing. Kitty is my favourite. House is looking fantastic. You are going to have such fun watching all the interior plans come together. With the move and now being without internet for a while, I’m a bit out of the loop and missed your survey. I do like a splash of copper ans I’m completely over Chevron patterns and the grey/lemon combination (apologies to those that are still coveting this).

  8. Africadayz says:

    It’s looking fabulous, Johanne. Very impressed by those panorama images! Isn’t it amazing how paint colours that can look so similar can simultaneously be so different? I have to confess to having eventually thrown up my hands and agreed to one just to get it done… It looks good so far. I just hope I’m going to feel the same when my belongings eventually resurface from storage.

  9. Mrs. T says:

    I love your approach to selecting the paint colour, so important to be thorough especially if you’re going to paint the whole house in one colour. I don’t know if my screen is calibrated correctly, but for me, Crystal Ball seems to be the most consistent performer. Kitty Grey is lovely as well though.
    I have to agree with you on the kitchen pendant front – the bigger one looks better.
    And what a kind wolf to bring you back all those goodies!
    Lunar62, I’ve also brought myself back a block of the Vegemite chocolate but I haven’t been brave enough to try it yet.

Leave a Reply

