Build update: render started.

 It has been so quiet on the build front over the past month that I sent in my spies to see if any work had been done at all.  The external cladding just below the roof has been installed.  It looks very white now, but it will be painted in Dulux’s Calf Skin.  The space between our ceilings and the roof is rather huge.  The roof line was raised by three courses of brick to accommodate the ducted air conditioning.  

The renderer has started covering the highest bricks and I suspect is now waiting for the scaffolding to be lowered before he can proceed.   I’m imaging that the process goes something like this:

  • Wait for renderer. Render a bit.
  • Wait for scaffolders.  Drop a lift.
  • Wait for renderer. Render a bit.
  • Wait for scaffolders again. Drop a lift.
  • Wait for renderer.  

All quite understandable, but I wasn’t mentally prepared by the construction schedule for this, so I’m feeling twitchy!  

The render will be painted Dulux’s Grey Pebble at a later date.  (Oh no!  I suppose that means the painters are going to have to wait on scaffolding too.)  The central column on the facade will be clad in stacked stone.  I’m rather pleased about that having seen some fantastic stacked stone today, used not only on the exterior, but also in a double shower with sky light ceiling.  

A big thanks to my friends who sent me lots of photos of House By The Water this week.   

 

14 thoughts on “Build update: render started.

  1. Hi Jo, this was the slow part of the build for us, so hang in there πŸ™‚
    Ours went render, paint, drop scaffold….render, paint, drop scaffold etc.
    I think this is the most cost effective, but certainly not very efficient.

  2. Shell says:

    Hi joanna the house looks g8 ours not even started yet 😦 we 2 hav picked grey pebble for render but unsure wot % hav u seen the colour render anywhere 100% 1/4 or 1/2 strength

    • Hi Shell. I’m only on my mobile this week so I can’t find a pic for you right now. There are some grey pebble examples in my Pinterest “Paint” folder but they are all interiors. I suggest typing grey pebble into a search on the HomeOne Forum.

  3. Africadayz says:

    Nice to see the shape of the house emerging through all that scaffolding. I’m guessing that ‘rendering’ is the Aussie term for what we call ‘plastering’?

    • I’m no expert on this, but I think the only difference between rendering and plastering is the material used. Rendering is concrete based, and plastering is plaster based. Plenty of variations on these. As DIY hacks, we’ve had a go at rendering before, but wouldn’t dare to attempt an internal plaster. Hopefully I’ll have some pics soon.

  4. trixee says:

    It feels awfully slow doesn’t it? I’m sure it’s not in reality. I think we’re getting to that impatient stage again. It must be harder for you not being able to keep tabs on everything, though it’s probably a blessing in disguise!

  5. Karen Laguerta says:

    I’m sure rendering is almost done by now, exterior at least! This brought me back to what I was feeling during our building process, when progress feels slower than expected!

  6. Shell says:

    Thanks Jo
    I will look at yr paint folder.
    Whilst looking after my mums house last week in yr area.
    I see colour πŸ™‚ how exciting 4 you it looks g8.
    Can u let me know wot % u used and if its acrylic render or paint as I know this makes a difference in depth of colour πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

