Building action: ceilings, render, white-set, roof.

It has sometimes been hard to get a park at House By The Water this week.  The head count has included a roof carpenter, ceiling installers, insulation installers, scaffold workers, electrical contractors and renderers.  It has been all action and there is plenty to show for it.

Kitchen bulkhead installation

Skilled tradesman at work on the bulkhead above our kitchen.

Home theatre

Library, now looking bright with white set walls.

canal side render

Canal side rendered.

Living room

Living room – white setting in progress today.

Front facade rendered

This morning’s work: front render done.

Behind the scenes, the electricians are ready to receive all our lights for fitting.  Only their message reads more like a ransom note than a request for fittings:

“Deliver to our warehouse….at this secret location…. only at this time….or we will fine you… a lot…. and you will regret it!   Don’t try to sneak in a wrong light…..we will fine you for that too…  If you dare to forget to label a box….that will be another $95.”   Okay, I might have embellished that a little, but honestly, their complex instructions and unforgiving fees have me scared I’m going to make a mistake.  Luckily, we’ve only received this information now, otherwise I would have been too frightened to order anything that was not available from the builder’s recommended light suppliers.  Most of our lights are coming from Radiant Lighting and I trust that they have the experience to meet the demands of the “ransom note”, but I also have 7 pendant lights that I’m supplying myself.  My pride and joy, the coco pendant, is now in my possession and my order from Dunlin lights arrived this morning.  Sadly, one of the pendants has been pushed out of shape in the box during shipping, so the delay to get a replacement to the electrician is bound to incur one of the electrical company’s friendly fees.

The cabinet makers have been checking up on a few of our details:  hidden robotic vacuum dock in the laundry and our integrated dishwasher.  I’m very happy to hear they are making a start on our cabinets.

I bought curtains for the master bedroom:

Bedroom Moodboard

Ink Blue Emery Curtain sample from Pottery Barn with Kitty Grey Solver paint, and a wool floor rug and throw from Santiago Airport.

I met the sales rep from Boardwalk Shutters on site this afternoon to measure up the shutters for the other bedrooms and our library.  I left this until the white set was completed so that more accurate measurements could be taken, but with the 10-12 week lead time on shutters, this means we’ll be without window dressings for a few weeks post handover.

And between running around like a headless chook for the past week, I’ve enjoyed a couple of cuppas and sweet treats at Frisky Deer Interiors with friends, old and new.

Frisky Deer Interiors

At Frisky Deer Interiors + Cafe in Mandurah.

19 thoughts on “Building action: ceilings, render, white-set, roof.

      • Yes I am slacking. Just had such a bad few months at work and now just changed jobs so between this and actually keeping an eye on the build the blog has taken a back seat. Much to some relatives disgust of which some sent me rude messages telling me to pull my finger out! Haha
        Anyways our build is coming along great. A few hiccups along the way but all up travelling well. Roof on, cladding on and painted, render started in and out, AC ducting in. Hoping to get a chance to update the timeline this weekend/early next week 😄
        I guess we may run in to you guys some time once we are all moved in! Did you get your jetty sorted?

  1. Africadayz says:

    Hi Jo. It’s looking great. So much progress. Seems like you guys say ‘rendering’ where we say ‘plastering’? I not sure about ‘white set’? Is that smooth, interior plasterwork?

  2. trixee says:

    I’m somewhat jealous of your tradie frenzy, they are making great progress! I never knew Pottery Barn did curtains, the one you’ve chosen is gorgeous. I might have to investigate there too.

  3. Shell says:

    Hi Jo
    Nice to see yr family arrived safely to mandurah 🙂 yr house looking beautiful how exciting to c the house coming together and the trades all working. Can u find out 4 me from yr renderer is the grey pebble render quarter half or 100% tint. 🙂

Leave a Reply

