Bench tops and tiles.

Alpine Mist Caesarstone.

Kitchen island in Alpine Mist and orange plastic.

The good news is that House By The Water is starting to come together.  The bad news is that the photos are lousy.  Dodgy, locked-out, bad angles, reflection-on-the-windows, ground-floor-only kind of photos.  I’m going to show you any way.

Last week the painters made the ceilings, doors and door frames white.

Then the tilers got busy in the bathrooms and the laundry.  I caught them on the job one morning:

Since then, the wall tiles in both bathrooms have also been laid.

The laundry tiles are almost complete.  There is just a small section under the cabinets left to tile.  This is going to be the hiding spot for our robotic vacuum.

Laundry tiles.

Keeping the laundry basic.

My powder room floor tile choice is proving to be more than just a puzzle:

Powder room mat effect tile.

Puzzling powder room tile.

The tiles come in a series of 6 different tiles.  When they are pieced together they create a rug effect.  We planned to use just three in the series since our powder room is fairly small.  All nice in theory.  Problem 1:  wrong tiles delivered.  Problem 2: replacement tiles still wrong.  Problem 3:  calculation of powder room floor space did not include extra width at the door openings, therefore 4 tiles in the series are actually required.  Problem 4: the second tile in the series is darker than the 1st and 3rd tiles making it look all wrong.  Gotta feeling the tiler isn’t going to love this tile.  I just hope I still do once all the problems are resolved.

The renderers covered some of the planter boxes beside the canal:

Planter boxes.

Planter boxes rendering in progress.

And, most exciting of all, the Caesarstone went in today.  Most of it is covered in protective plastic, but I managed to get a close up of the Alpine Mist bench top in our scullery through the scullery window.

Kitchen bench.

My kitchen bench. House priority #1.

Alpine Mist Caesarstone.

Alpine Mist Caesarstone

Behind the scenes, the landscaping ball is rolling again.  I’m selecting tiles for around the pool for the third time.   The first tiles were discontinued, then the second.  There’s a chance we will have some decking before handover of our house which is a thrilling prospect.  You all know that it’s the glass of wine on the deck that I’ve been dreaming about for the last 3 years.

Our dishwasher is purchased and is awaiting fitting.  We bought the integrated model of Fisher and Paykel’s double dish drawer.  This means that the dish washer will be disguised as a kitchen cabinet.  Very swish!  We’ve had Fisher and Paykel dish drawers in several houses over the past 15 years and I give them two thumbs up.

It’s almost time to start making some lists.  It’s not long now before Webb and Brown-Neaves’ work is done and ours is just beginning.

10 thoughts on “Bench tops and tiles.

  1. LOVE the Alpine Mist stone. It’s going to look beautiful.
    I’m intrigued to see the powder room puzzle come together. It’s a unique but gorgeous tile.

    When is PCI?

  2. mariashumptydoo says:

    Very positive progress and beautiful results. Exciting!
    Jo, I like the way you manage to catch glimpses of the new work done inside, from the exterior… The kitchen bench top looks fantastic.

  3. trixee says:

    I must admit I was feeling a little bit anxious that your benchtops were going to take ages to get installed but they seem to have come through – fantastic! And the Alpine mist is gorgeous, as are those powder room tiles. Glad I’m not the only one who chose problematic tiles 😉 I guarantee they will be worth the trouble in the end!

  4. They are certainly busy at yours. I really like your Caesarstone benchtops and the bathroom tiles. I look forward to seeing your planters painted and filled. I hope you get your PCI date soon.

  5. That is gorgeous! I especially love the poured concrete planters by the canal. I live on a canal, too (in New York), and the salt water is really hard on the planters I’ve bought. I may try that!

Leave a Reply

