Window shopping in Melbourne 

Yeah, I know my last post was about running out of money.  This was purely research.  Really.  I had 3 or 4 hours to spare and three suburbs to cover.  Special thanks to the stranger at Oakpark train station who loaned me his Myki public transport card so I didn’t have to wait for the Post Office to open at 9am to purchase a card.

Church Street, Richmond, was first on my list, to sit on, look at and touch Australian-made sofas that are available online but are not on show in Western Australia.  Jardan sofas woo me in every Australian interiors magazine.   The Jardan store is one that you feel you should have packed your pyjamas and moved right in.  It’s much more homely than the somewhat clinical photos I’d seen imply.  On top of their famous sofas, they have an eclectic collection of rugs (not all online) and some art I could have stood in front of all day if I had not been a woman on a mission.  It was good to sit on the sofas.  some are just too deep  for cups of tea and upright conversation and others are just right.  I identified some beautiful fabric should I select one of their products in the future.

Jardan sofa

Jardan sofa in “ink blue”. Proving once again that colour in the photo/on screen does not equal reality

Church Street is a sort of sofa shopping hub, amongst other homewares, furniture and interior decorating supplies.  Right across the road from Jardan is Voyager Interiors.  They had some completely dreamy sofas with removable covers, all the way from Italy.  I think they flew business class.  Anyway, I was interested in their Australian-made “Odense”, so after it passed the sit test I organised a quote and fabric samples.

Voyager Interiors sofa

Australian-made “Odense” by Voyager Interiors

I popped past Fitzroy to have a squizz  at Southwood Home who I have been admiring on Instagram for their Australian-made furniture for a long time.  Some of their bedside tables are contenders for a future place at House By The Water.  I gazed at their beautiful linen for longer than is normal then plodded down the footpath in search of a Mark Tuckey fix.  The decision to move into the Jardan show room or the Mark Tuckey showroom would be a close call, but on this occasion the doors were locked at Mark Tuckey so I’ll stick with my own home for the time being.

I met my sister for lunch at Weylandts’ Kitchen in Abbotsford.  This sister, previously referred to as The Sensible One, is building a new house soon but is usually too busy with work to loll about dreaming of future interiors.    To quote my sister, Weylandts was “like visiting a museum”!   (That was a compliment.)  It’s a huge warehouse showing off furniture and homewares from around the world but definitely with an African focus.  Weylandts is a South African company with an eye for style that I love.  Their collection is perfectly curated and original.  Giant tree roots hang from the ceiling!  Some products such as rugs, lighting and artefacts are competitively priced.  Looking at these photos again now makes me sigh….:

Meanwhile, what’s been happening at House By The Water?  The timber floors have started.  The Auswood brothers set off at a cracking pace two weeks ago, sanding and sealing our concrete floor then laying the beautiful, raw blackbutt timber from NSW.  So far the bottom floor timber is down and about half the top floor.  The tricky bits such as the stairs and our curved, suspended slab edge are yet to be done, but the end of concrete dust, sawdust and a furniture-less home is in sight.

Concrete sand and seal

Concrete sand and seal

Blackbutt everywhere.

Blackbutt everywhere.

Scullery getting homely.

Scullery getting homely.

Self levelling concrete.

Self levelling concrete.

Coming soon:

  • Will the fireplace saga ever end?
  • A trip to the tree farms.

 

8 thoughts on “Window shopping in Melbourne 

  1. Sarah says:

    Floors are looking fabulous and the scullery is looking magazine showcase worthy. You must be so pleased all your research and hard work is coming together.

  2. Africadayz says:

    Hi Jo. What a lovely post. Your floors look stunning and I love the scullery too. So glad you like Weylandts! Always good to know that a South African company is doing well in the big, much wider world… Wonder how they managed to get those hanging tree roots into their stores? I suspect they are Australian root! Can’t even get a carved wooden salad bowl through your eagle-eyed immigration people….

    • It really is a beautiful shop. The tree roots were Australian and cranes were involved in their hanging. I know what you mean about Australian customs. Many a beautiful souvenir had been left unsold for this reason.

Leave a Reply

